TSEA Board Nominations Deadline – March 1, 2013

The deadline for receiving nominating petitions for the TSEA Board of Directors is 4:30 p.m. on Friday, March 1, 2013 (at least 60 days prior to ballots being mailed). Positions up for election for a two-year term of office in 2013 are the East, Middle and West Vice Presidents and the odd-numbered District board seats (Districts 1, 3, 5, 7, 9 and 11).

The Board of TSEA is the policy making and governing body of the Association. All Board members are required to be active or retired members of TSEA. The membership of TSEA nominates and elects these important association leaders.

The TSEA Constitution and Bylaws require that nominations must be:

- 1) Submitted to the TSEA Executive Director in writing;
- 2) Be signed by the nominee;
- 3) Include 25 valid signatures of TSEA members; and
- 4) Must also state the position desired.

When seeking election for Secretary, Treasurer, or one of the District board seats, a nominee must be a member in good standing of TSEA and have been a member for at least one full year by the deadline for receiving nominations.

When seeking election for President, a nominee shall have been a member in good standing of TSEA for at least three (3) consecutive years immediately preceding the deadline for receiving nominations. Any nominee for president also shall have served at least one (1) year in an elected capacity at the state or chapter level prior to the deadline for receiving nominations.

Candidates must provide a photograph and respond to a questionnaire. The photograph and information provided by each candidate will be printed in the Co-Worker prior to the May mailing of ballots. The deadline to receive the photograph and questionnaire is March 1 at 4:30 p.m.

If elected, the Constitution states that a Board member <u>may not</u> hold another elected office in the Association, either at the state or local chapter level.

The Vice Presidents and District Director candidates are elected by and from the chapter members in their respective regions and/or board districts. The President, Secretary and Treasurer are elected by the statewide membership.

In addition to the East VP, Middle VP, and West VP positions, the Board Districts for election in 2013 are:

DISTRICT 1 *CHAPTERS (Counties)* Hatchie River (Haywood, Lauderdale, Tipton) Pioneer (Crockett, Gibson) Reelfoot (Dyer, Lake, Obion) WHBC (Benton, Carroll, Henry, Weakley)

DISTRICT 3 CHAD (Chester, Decatur, Henderson) Fayette (Fayette) Forked Deer (Madison) Southwest (Hardeman, Hardin, McNairy)

DISTRICT 5 Davidson (Davidson)

DISTRICT 7 David Crockett (Lawrence) Giles/Lincoln (Giles, Lincoln) Maury/Marshall (Marshall, Maury) Rutherford County (Rutherford) South 40 (Hickman, Lewis, Perry) Three Rivers (Bedford, Coffee, Moore) Tims Ford (Franklin) Wayne (Wayne) Williamson (Williamson)

DISTRICT 9 Caney Fork (Cannon, DeKalb, Grundy, Warren) Fall Creek Falls (Bledsoe, Sequatchie, Van Buren) Hamilton (Hamilton) Hiwassee (Bradley, McMinn, Meigs, Polk) Marion (Marion)

DISTRICT 11 Appalachian (Carter, Johnson, Unicoi, Washington) East Tennessee State Univ. Lakeway (Grainger, Hamblen, Hancock, Hawkins) Northeast (Sullivan)

As stated in Bylaws Article 2, Section 4 – Voting: "In the event only one qualified nominee is presented as required in Section 2 of this article, said nominee shall be deemed elected and the position shall not be included on any ballot mailed to members."

Ballots for the election will be counted by the Election Certification Committee of TSEA on Monday, June 3, 2013 at the TSEA Office.

Nominating petitions and bio forms are available at the TSEA office. Be sure to send your nomination petition, questionnaire and photograph by the deadline date.