# TSEA Scholarships Deadline – April 2, 2013

With a new year comes the realization that college is just around the corner for many of your sons and daughters. Each year TSEA awards scholarships to dependent children of active or retired TSEA members or to TSEA members themselves. Scholarship application materials are available by request from the TSEA office beginning January 2, 2013.

Your membership status must first be verified through the TSEA office by calling (800) 251-8732 or (615) 256-4533, or by sending your written request. Be sure to include a phone number where a staff member can return your call. Once your membership status is verified you will be provided with information on how to apply.

Criteria for applying and awards of scholarships are as follows:

# **Eligibility**

Tennessee State Employees Association Scholarships are open to high school seniors, college freshmen, sophomores, and juniors who are:

- 1. dependent children of TSEA members (regular or retired),
- 2. or regular or retired TSEA members themselves, or
- 3. dependent children of full-time TSEA employees

The parent of the dependent child or the TSEA member must have been a member for at least one year as of April 1 of the year in which the scholarships are awarded and announced. For the dependent child of a TSEA employee to be eligible, the employee must have been employed with TSEA for at least one year and still be employed as of April 1 of the year the scholarship is awarded and announced.

You must plan to enroll in the fall as a full-time student in an accredited and approved college, university or technical school. In addition, applicants must have a minimum ACT score of 20 or a minimum score of 940 on the SAT.

Your completed application must be postmarked or received by April 2, 2013 to: TSEA Scholarship Program
ISTS
1321 Murfreesboro Road,
Suite 800
Nashville, TN 37217

To contact ISTS:

Phone: (615) 777-3750, or (855) 670-4787

Email for questions: contactus@applyists.com

Applicant materials: info@applyists.com

#### Awards

Tennessee State Employees Association will award up to 21 scholarships of \$750 each year. There is one award made in each of the 12 Board Districts and 3 awards for each of the grand divisions of the state (east, middle and west), for a total of 21 scholarships to be awarded. A listing of the counties included in each board district is shown below. Awards are not renewable; however, non-winning students can reapply each year as long as they continue to meet the eligibility requirements.

The scholarships will be applied to educational expenses at accredited, nonprofit two or four-year colleges/universities in the United States. A student may transfer from one institution to another and retain the award.

#### Winner Selection

A Selection Committee comprised of educators who have no connection with Tennessee State Employees Association will evaluate the applications and select the winners. The use of this independent committee is designed to ensure the impartiality and confidentiality of the selection process. In evaluating the applicants, the committee will consider the applicants' community involvement, extracurricular activities and academic achievements or records. The college GPA is also considered if the applicant is already enrolled in an institution.

# Responsibilities of Recipients

Recipient responsibilities include enrolling as full-time undergraduates in the fall of the year in which the scholarships are awarded and continuing in school for the entire academic year without interruption, barring illness, emergency, or military service. Scholarship recipients are responsible for delivering their scholarship checks to the proper office at their institution.

# **Program Administration**

To assure complete impartiality in selection of winners and to maintain a high level of professionalism, the program is administered by International Scholarship and Tuition Services, Inc., a firm that specializes in managing sponsored scholarship programs. All documents must arrive in the same package for the submission to be considered complete.

Incomplete applications will not be considered. If your materials are considered incomplete, you will be notified by ISTS in advance of the April deadline, which provides time to complete the process.

To check the status of your submitted application:

Allow two weeks after submitting all of the information for processing. Go to aim.applyists.net and login using the email address the applicant provided on the application.

# Remember, the postmark or fax deadline is April 2.

To request an application you may contact the TSEA office: (615) 256-4533 or Toll FREE 800-251-8732 or by emailing your request to TSEA at: junie.rolens@tseaonline.org.

# TSEA Board/Scholarship Districts:

#### DISTRICT 1

(Chapter Name, Counties, and Regional District)
Hatchie River (Haywood, Lauderdale, Tipton) West Region
Pioneer (Crockett, Gibson) West Region
Reelfoot (Dyer, Lake, Obion) West Region
WHBC (Benton, Carroll, Henry, Weakley) West Region

#### DISTRICT 2

Shelby (Shelby) West Region Memphis Higher Education Chapter West Region

## DISTRICT 3

CHAD (Chester, Decatur, Henderson) West Region Fayette (Fayette) West Region Forked Deer (Madison) West Region Southwest (Hardeman, Hardin, McNairy) West Region

#### DISTRICT 4

Highland Rim (Dickson, Houston, Humphreys) Middle Region Sycamore (Cheatham, Robertson) Middle Region TWS (Smith, Trousdale, Wilson) Middle Region Volunteer (Macon, Sumner) Middle Region Warioto (Montgomery, Stewart) Middle Region

### DISTRICT 5

Davidson (Davidson) Middle Region

#### DISTRICT 6

Davidson (Davidson) Middle Region

#### **DISTRICT 7**

David Crockett (Lawrence) Middle Region Giles/Lincoln (Giles, Lincoln) Middle Region Maury/Marshall (Marshall, Maury) Middle Region Rutherford County (Rutherford) Middle Region South 40 (Hickman, Lewis, Perry) Middle Region Three Rivers (Bedford, Coffee, Moore) Middle Region Tims Ford (Franklin) Middle Region Wayne (Wayne) Middle Region Williamson (Williamson) Middle Region

## **DISTRICT 8**

Campbell/Scott (Campbell, Scott) East Region
Cumberland Plateau (Cumberland, Fentress) East Region
Morgan (Morgan) East Region
Roane (Roane) East Region
Tealeaf (Rhea) East Region
Upper Cumberland (Clay, Jackson, Overton, Pickett, Putnam, White) Middle Region

#### DISTRICT 9

Caney Fork (Cannon, DeKalb, Grundy, Warren) Middle Region Fall Creek Falls (Bledsoe, Sequatchie, Van Buren) Middle Region Hamilton (Hamilton) East Region Hiwassee (Bradley, McMinn, Meigs, Polk) East Region Marion (Marion) East Region

## DISTRICT 10

Anderson (Anderson) East Region
Knox/UT (Knox) East Region
Norris Lake (Claiborne, Union) East Region
DISTRICT 11 Appalachian (Carter, Johnson, Unicoi, Washington) East Region
East Tennessee State Univ. East Region
Lakeway (Grainger, Hamblen, Hancock, Hawkins) East Region
Northeast (Sullivan) East Region

## DISTRICT 12

Foothills (Blount, Loudon, Monroe) East Region French Broad (Cocke, Jefferson) East Region Greene (Greene) East Region Smoky Mountain (Sevier) East Region