Take Action Now: Support Paid Leave for Tennessee State Employees

TSEA March 24, 2023 Comments Off on Take Action Now: Support Paid Leave for Tennessee State Employees

TSEA Legislative Alert – 3-23-23

Good news, Senate Bill 0276, which would provide 12 weeks of paid leave for state employees for the birth or adoption of a child, passed the Senate on Thursday, 3-23-23.


We need your support to push the companion bill,
House Bill 0324, forward in the House.

The House Finance Committee is scheduled to vote on this bill on Tuesday, March 28, at 3 p.m. Central, and your help is very important in making sure that it passes.

Please take a moment before next Tuesday to contact the House Finance committee members and express your support for House Bill 0324.

What should I say/write?

Here is an example of what you might say in your call or email:

SUBJECT: Please Support House Bill 324

Dear [Legislator’s Name],

I am writing to request your support for House Bill 324, which would provide 12 work weeks of paid leave for state employees following the birth or adoption of a child.

As you know, state employees are vital to our workforce and contribute significantly to our state’s success. However, many employees face a difficult decision when they become new parents, as they must balance their responsibilities at home with the demands of their jobs.

House Bill 324 would address this issue by providing state employees with the support they need during this critical time. By allowing them to take the necessary time off to bond with their newborn or newly adopted child, they can return to work more focused, engaged, and productive. Additionally, this policy would make Tennessee a more attractive destination for top talent and help to retain valuable employees.

I strongly urge you to support House Bill 324 and help make this policy a reality for our state employees. Thank you for your attention to this important matter.


[Your Name]

How do I contact the legislators on the House Finance committee?

To call the legislators on the House finance committee, dial 1-800-449-8366 and follow the prompts. The names of the committee members are listed below.

To email the members of the House Finance committee, click on the email address below:

House Finance Committee Members:
Rep. Patsy Hazlewood – Chair Rep. Gary Hicks
[email protected] [email protected]
Rep. Charlie Baum – Vice Chair Rep. Kelly Keisling
[email protected] [email protected]
Rep. Jody Barrett Rep. William Lamberth
[email protected] [email protected]
Rep. Clark Boyd Rep. Harold Love, Jr.
[email protected] [email protected]
Rep. Scotty Campbell Rep. Susan M. Lynn
[email protected] [email protected]
Rep. Karen D. Camper Rep. Sam Mckenzie
[email protected] [email protected]
Rep. Mark Cochran Rep. Larry J. Miller
[email protected] [email protected]
Rep. John Crawford Rep. Jerome Moon
[email protected] [email protected]
Rep. Jeremy Faison Rep. Antonio Parkinson
[email protected] [email protected]
Rep. Bob Freeman Rep. Johnny Shaw
[email protected] [email protected]
Rep. Ron M. Gant Rep. Mike Sparks
[email protected] [email protected]
Rep. Johnny Garrett Rep. Sam Whitson
[email protected] [email protected]
Rep. David B. Hawk Rep. Ryan Williams
[email protected]  [email protected]
Rep. Jason Zachary
[email protected]