TCRS Board of Trustees and State Insurance Committee Elections

TSEA May 13, 2022 Comments Off on TCRS Board of Trustees and State Insurance Committee Elections

During the month of May 2022, State and Higher Ed employees have the opportunity to elect their representatives on boards that oversee their insurance benefits and retirement.

The upcoming term for new state employee representatives on both the TCRS Board of Trustees and the State Insurance Committee begins July 1, 2022. State employees can vote for candidates who submitted an application to appear on the official ballot following emails sent from TCRS and Benefits Administration on February 7, 2022. The election is currently underway, and state employees are encouraged to vote. Please check your email for the link to vote.

*Note: TSEA is not making candidate recommendations for the position; however, below we have indicated which state employees are also members of TSEA.

TCRS Board of Trustees

The Tennessee Consolidated Retirement System Board of Trustees is responsible for the general administration and proper operation of TCRS within the requirements and provisions of state statute (T.C.A., Title 8, Chapters 34-37). The 20-member Board meets quarterly and is subject to the call of the chair for special meetings. Nine voting members constitute a quorum and nine affirmative votes are needed for decision making.

State and Higher Education employees elect two (2) representatives to serve as members of the Board of Trustees of the Tennessee Consolidated Retirement System for a three-year term. New terms of office begin on July 1, 2022. An election is underway to elect two (2) representatives.

Candidates for TCRS Board of Trustees

Shiri Anderson
Michael Cox
Uvonne Leverett
Christopher Sherbesman
*Cathlyn Smith (TSEA member)
Mark Stanfill
Norma Terry

State Insurance Committee

Benefits Administration, the division of Finance & Administration that oversees the State Group Insurance Program, asks state employees to elect two state employee representatives to serve three-year terms on the State Insurance Committee.

Candidates for the State Insurance Committee

*Michelle Consiglio-Young (TSEA member)
Judith Knecht
Donathan Knowles

Details about the candidates and the election are included on the official ballot in your email.