TSEA Legislative Days Round-Up and Pictures

TSEA May 13, 2014 Comments Off on TSEA Legislative Days Round-Up and Pictures
TSEA Legislative Days Round-Up and Pictures

This year, TSEA began holding Regional Legislative Days across the state, asking all chapters to participate. We are happy to report that most chapters were able to hold legislative meetings, often in coordination with surrounding chapters, where both House and Senate Members attended. This allowed us to “roll out” our legislative agenda early and begin educating the Legislature on our issues before they came up in committee.

Because of the great success of these meetings, we were able to get sponsors on our bills early and as you can see from the final legislative wrap-up article, these sponsors stood by us on our legislative package. Thank you to all that participated. We could not do what we do without your efforts and attendance at these events. We hope to see this grow and have an even better turnout next year.

Three Rivers – 9/24
Sen. Janice Bowling and Rep. Judd Matheny

MHEC – 11/4
Rep. Jim Coley

Wayne Co – 11/5
Rep. Vance Dennis

Maury/Marshall, South Forty, David Crockett, Giles/Lincoln – 11/7
Sen. Joey Hensley

Williamson Co – 12/6
Rep. Glen Casada

Hamilton Co – 12/6
Sen. Bo Watson

Greene Co – 12/6
Sen. Steve Southerland, Rep. David Hawk and Jeremy Faison

Davidson Co – 12/12
Reps. Sherry Jones and Jason Powell

Tims Ford – 12/12
Rep. David Alexander

Shelby Co, Hatchie River, Fayette Co – 1/4
Sen. Brian Kelsey, Reps. Craig Fitzhugh, Debra Moody, Barbara Cooper, and Mark White

Knox/UT – 1/16
Sens. Becky Massey and Stacey Campfield, Reps. Bill Dunn, Gloria Johnson, Steve Hall, Harry Brooks, and Roger Kane

Upper Cumberland, Cumberland Plateau, Fall Creek Falls – 1/18
Reps. Kelly Keisling and Paul Bailey

Volunteer, TWS, Caney Fork – 1/18
Sen. Mae Beavers, Reps. Kelly Keisling and Mark Pody

French Broad – 1/24
Reps. Jeremy Faison and Andrew Farmer

Hiwassee, Foothills – 1/25
Sen. Mike Bell

Campbell/Scott, Anderson Co – 1/30
Sen. Ken Yager and Rep. Kelly Keisling

Sycamore, Warioto, Highland Rim – 2/1
Reps. David Shepard and John Tidwell

Northeast, Appalachian, ETSU – 3/22
Sen. Rusty Crowe, Reps. Timothy Hill, Matthew Hill, Micah Van Huss, and Speaker Kent Williams